Frontpage Slideshow (version 2.0.0) - Copyright © 2006-2008 by JoomlaWorks

We Are In

 
 
Review www.y101fm.com on alexa.com
The Bitterroot FootagePDFPrintE-mail
Zak Magat



The social media trends capturing the attention of gullible netizens have been getting stranger and stranger by the minute.

Out of the nightmarish woodworks comes TheBitterrootFootage.com. . Its creepy story and disturbing photos have cranked up the eerie factor to a different level. The story’s protagonist is the creator of the website and here is his story.

Chad a student from a university in New York had just moved into a new studio apartment. He went online to purchase pieces of furniture for his new pad.  A man wanting to get rid of unwanted stuff, was selling his furniture in bulk at Craigslist.  Chad bought a small table which came with a bunch of random stuff that the man had added to the package, including a wooden box, which he kept out of curiosity. He forcibly opened the box one day and found it contained ominous pictures and a small tin can. The pictures were old and vintage, with the word “Bitterroot” handwritten on all of them. The tin can however contained a small roll of 8mm film. He kept the pictures and the film in safe keeping until he could find a way to fix the old film and view it. He fixed the rolls of film and viewed it with an old projector he bought from E bay.  He then uploaded the video for the rest of the world to see.

The pictures looked pretty realistic, mostly showing a hooded man and a chained down burlap sack. While the video may not be as horrifying as what Nicolas Cage found in the 1999 flick 8MM , it was rather creepy and goose-bump-inducing, in its own weird way.  While it has caused some scaredy-cats  to jump out of their computer chairs, it has received mixed reactions, from being  not-scary-enough to a being another hoax in the Blair-Witch-Project-tradition .

The website claims it has contacted the man who sold the film and the box, and they would be uploading more information about the mysterious box on the website soon. Some people say that the website is actually a promotional tool for the movie Bitterroot that involves a vengeful cowboy. 

Fake or real, scary or totally lame, the website has been a hot topic for the social media, in my age group at least.   If this is all a promotional stunt for the movie “Bitterroot”, then the box-office will have its final say on whether they have stirred the net pot well enough.


 

Shout Box

View archive

Guests are shown between [].

Only registered users are allowed to post